Issues with Payment Flow changes in newer versions

WCMp Stripe Marketplace

Resolved
Viewing 21 reply threads
  • Author
    Posts
    • #136894
      MisterS
      Participant

      I thought I should open a new thread about this because it’s very important and other users need to know this.

      We have now updated to the latest version of Stripe Marketplace for SCA payment compatibility.

      WCMP mentions in this thread “Hi, with SCA stripe has restricted multiple transaction for an order (i.e. it now supports transaction with customer to one vendor)”
      https://multivendorx.com/support-forum/topic/error-creating-charge-record-with-stripe-multi-vendor-order/#post-122758

      Stripe have told us separately that they can still support multiple vendors per order but you have the impression that it cannot, I guess we’re stuck with this method because you own and update the plugin code. Due to this change we now have the following issues:

      1. Charges

      With the new payment flow, Admin accounts are now charged the Stripe fee, I was advised by WCMP that we can pass-on these Stripe charges to Vendors by adding commission charges – we now have this working: https://multivendorx.com/support-forum/topic/100-of-funds-going-to-admin-not-vendor/#post-136888

      But looking at the balances and payments now, because an order for two vendors is now one payment via Stripe, not multiple, the Admin account is being charged once for the order, not once per vendor. So using the above method, the admin account will for example be charged 1.4% + 20p for the order, then in turn charge 1.4% + 20p to each Vendor in that order – effectively making a small amount of money from each order that contains more than one Vendor. This might not be a huge issue but it effects the admin finances and how the site’s charges work in principle, so we will now have to inform all our Vendors of this change and this is an issue for us because we promised not to add any fees to what Stripe charges.

      2. Refunds

      Due to the payment flow now working differently, an order payment is made between the Customer and Admin. Only the admin account now has customer details visible from each transaction, the vendor used to be able to see these and potentially interact with the customer using these details (you mention that the OrderID will replace the long-string reference in an update, this will identify which transaction is linked to which order). This affects who is the Data Controller in this transaction which is important for Data Protection protocols.

      Now if a Vendor wants to refund an order, unless I am missing something they can only refund the payment made between the Vendor and the Admin.. because that’s the payment that was sent to them (not directly from the Customer). I have tested refunding orders via Vendor’s dashboard – the amount the Customer has spent is never refunded to them, only to the Admin.

      So how do refunds now work? Previously a Vendor could refund a payment directly back to their Customer. Now would the Vendor need to refund the payment to the Admin first, then manually inform them to further refund their part of an order to the Customer? This is a step backwards and adds more administration to running the site. Previously Admins didn’t have to get involved in the refund process at all, it was all done by the Vendors.

    • #136981

      @MisterS, I just need one small piece of information regarding what is the charge type, are you using? This way we can assist you accordingly.

    • #136984
      MisterS
      Participant

      @moumita I am using the only charge type that is now available with the latest version of Stripe Marketplace: Separate Charges and Transfers. The other two (Direct and Destination) are greyed out.

    • #137037

      @MisterS, Thanks for the information.

      As you need to use Separate Charges and Transfer (as you are using SCA), hence as per stripe’s code admin will receive the whole money from the customer. That is why the vendor’s commission will be paid from the admin’s stripe account.

      therefore, you have to manage the refund policy like this. So basically, you need to make sure that your vendor will refund the amount to you first. Then you can release the refund to the customer.

      I am afraid there is no other way around here, as stripe itself doesn’t support one too many Payment using Separate Charges and Transfer

    • #137057
      MisterS
      Participant

      @moumita OK we’ll have to think of a different plugin for our sites in the long-term then, it’s a shame as we have spend hundreds of hours tweaking yours, but we can’t use it long-term now due to these issues caused by now limiting the charge types available.

      I have just chatted with Stripe support again and they assure me that all three types of charge type work with SCA payments, not just SeparateChargers/Transfers if you’re using the latest available version of their API. They see no reason why Direct charges would now not work with SCA
      transactions the same as they were being used by your plugin previously.

      You could have kept using Direct and Destination charges when updated for SCA. This would have kept us as a customer long-term. Your older code for Direct charges split orders into separate payments per vendor (single user transactions) and this would still work, not sure why this has changed now.
      https://stripe.com/docs/connect/charges#types

      PS You should definitely update your Stripe Marketplace information page – it still says you can choose between all three types of charges. It should also mention how refunds work because if I was a new customer who purchased licenses for WCMP then only found this out afterwards, I would have liked to have known this before spending much time developing it: https://multivendorx.com/product/wcmp-stripe-marketplace

    • #137065

      @MisterS, let me consult with my dev team, about whether the current stripe API does support this.

    • #137129

      @MisterS, we are in touch with the Stripe team regarding the API doc.

      Once we will gather all the information required for this, we will let you know

    • #137433

      @MisterS, just to keep you posted, we are in touch with stripe.

      The API doc shared by them yet did not support direct charge payment for a multivendor environment. We are trying to explain to them our requirements in detail.

      We will keep you posted with the update.

    • #137821
      WLS_FH
      Participant

      @moumita

      We need to understand if and how the issue with SCA and Stripe Charges type has been fixed.

      We need to use SCA, as it is mandatory for EU businesses.

      We do not want to use separate charges because we want to process Refunds straight from vendors to customers.

    • #137856

      @MisterS, , till now all the API’s sent by stripe doesn’t support that they allow SCA for Direct charges. Can you please add our team with that mail thread, where they have confirmed that this support is added.

    • #137857
      MisterS
      Participant

      @moumita what’s the best email address to send you the chats I have had with them?

      I did mention that it’s a multi-vendor environment and they told me all 3 charge types work OK with SCA. I think this is confusing though, as I believe your previous Stripe Marketplace split each transaction into one transaction per vendor… directly between the customer and the vendor, so an order was effectively many single-user transactions. If you’re now doing this all as one multi-user transactions now then maybe this won’t work with all charge types? If so, this is a decision you have taken to change how your plugin works, and this means lots of customers like me will not be able to use it now.

      PS as mentioned above a month ago, your Stripe Marketplace information page still states that it supports all three charge types. This is not true! https://multivendorx.com/product/wcmp-stripe-marketplace

    • #137863
      WLS_FH
      Participant

      @MisterS not a surprise they didn’t update their page. I bought their advance frontend manager because supposedly it was compliant with another plugin. Reality is that, it was not, and after 1 year and a half I’m still waiting for Wcmp to integrate it.


      @Moumita
      why don’t you get in touch with Stripe yourself instead. You developed the plugin, not MisterS.

    • #137864

      @MisterS, please do add our email id i.e. contact@wc-marketplace.com so we can communicate with the support team.

      Let me address the confusion here. Our plugin does support all three charges i.e. Direct charges, Destination Charges, and Separate charges and transfers.

      But the restrictions you are facing is with SCA only(i.e. for UK client). As shared earlier, until Stripe has the proper API that proves that SCA is also supported for direct charges, we can’t add the same.

      Till now all the API documents shared by a stripe with us, don’t prove that. That’s why please add us with that email thread, maybe we can find something there.

      @WLS, first of all, I understand your end. But we have to prioritize the development plan as per the requirement. As shared over the mail, the team has started working on this support for MVX PRO module.

      So, we are pretty sure that we can give you the pro version within next month.
      WLS, just one help needed. Can you share the updated version over our mail i.e contact@wc-marketplace.com

      • #137879
        WLS_FH
        Participant

        @Moumita in the email you sent a week ago, you said ‘within this month’. Now I understand it’s, ‘within next month’.
        Last February, in response to my complaint, you said priority was MVX which beta was due ‘by March’.

        I am actually doubtful you are going to deliver this at all.

        Just as a reminder. Integration with RnB was due way before you started planning for MVX Pro module.

        Anyway, let everyone know about Stripe Marketplace as this is going to be an issue for many.

        By the way: I could not attach the .zip a file to the email. Your server responds negative:
        This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

        A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
        recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

        contact@wc-marketplace.com
        host mx.zoho.com [136.143.191.44]
        SMTP error from remote mail server after end of data:
        552 5.7.1 The attachments you have added violate the Secure Attachment Policy. Learn more

        • #137897

          Please upload the plugin over drive and share the drive link via mail.

          • #138120
            WLS_FH
            Participant
            This reply has been marked as private.
    • #137865
      MisterS
      Participant

      @Moumita I have forwarded you the recent support chat to you, but I don’t know if you will be able to reply to this as your email address wasn’t in the initial chat.

    • #137870

      @MisterS, we have sent them an email keeping you in the cc.

      • #138119
        WLS_FH
        Participant

        News?
        It’s getting quite serious on our end. Thanks

    • #138244

      @WLS_FH, our lead developer has also added you in the mail loop.

    • #140663
      WLS_FH
      Participant

      I sent an email days ago but no answer.
      Trying here. Is there any news ?

    • #140715

      @WLS_FH, I am pretty sure they don’t support direct charge sca for the multivendor platforms.
      We have sent them a mail again.

      • #140717
        MisterS
        Participant

        @moumita I forwarded you the email Stripe sent me which says all connect charge types are SCA compliant. Did you reply to them on this thread? Have they now changed their mind about this statement?

        Stripe: “Thank you for writing back to me. I understand your concern about the charge flow be SCA compliant. Billing and Checkout were always automatically SCA ready as products. https://stripe.com/partners/sca-ready
        All the Connect charge types are as well by nature, just your integration you need to make sure is up to date. If it is, you’re good to go!”

        Despite confusion over this, Direct charges do work in multi-vendor environments, you know this because the previous version of your plugin allowed Direct charges (I believe previously one overall charge per customer was split into several Direct charges, one per vendor for orders from more than one vendor). This worked great – the funds were just passed directly to the vendor along with the order information, customer email address etc.
        Now it’s all changed due to your update and forcing Separate Charges and Transfers, the vendor doesn’t get this info, fundamentally changing your product, breaking how refunds work and and meaning we cannot use it long-term so have ceased all development and will be cancelling our subscriptions.

        PS it’s now over two months (and now three mentions by me) since I told you your Stripe Marketplace plugin page info is incorrect and it still states you can use all three types of charge types. This is not true and is misleading!
        https://multivendorx.com/product/wcmp-stripe-marketplace

    • #140800

      @MisterS, I understand your confusion here. Let me clear those:
      First, the link they have shared i.e. https://stripe.com/partners/sca-ready, gives us the name of their SCA partners. This doesn’t have any API reference of sca activation for a multivendor environment.

      Most of these partners work as individual eCommerce sites (one-to-one payment).
      Only one multivendor partner is WC Vendor: https://prnt.sc/v1A_dhpTEkGF, which is a woocommerce-based plugin.
      If you check their product details, they clearly mention that sca is supported for Seperate charges and transfers: https://www.awesomescreenshot.com/image/30487766?key=c5f29fc76a82f43f437cbb46967a1131

      Until stripe shares the exact API to integrate SCA for direct charge for one to many payment flows, we can’t proceed with this. We did our part of the research but still, no API doc supports that. That is why we asked stripe to share us the exact doc. Hopefully, they can create that API doc and share the same.

      Also, our current SCA flow has nothing to do with our latest update, becasue SCA has always worked with a seperate charge type (i.e. one to one payment only) for the multivendor platform.

    • #140996
      WLS_FH
      Participant

      Did you hear from Stripe^
      Also, how can we deny ‘debit card’ payments and use onlòy ‘credit card’s?

    • #141057

      @WLS_FH, just like you, we also didn’t receive any mail from the stripe.

      Regarding the card option, I am afraid stripe also doesn’t support this. You can refer to this link : https://stackoverflow.com/questions/47004122/how-to-disable-default-payment-method-credit-card-in-stripe-checkout

    • #144958

      Hi @WLS_FH, we haven’t heard back from you for a while.
      So we presume this issue has been fixed. We are closing this for now.

Viewing 21 reply threads

The topic ‘Issues with Payment Flow changes in newer versions’ is closed to new replies.